It’s easy to confuse the Photos application with various photo albums. It could be something you made years ago and forgot, or something an application was made for you. Here’s how to delete a photo album on iPhone, iPad and Mac.
Delete Photo Album on iPhone and iPad
The Photo application on iPhone and iPad makes it easy to add, organize and delete albums. Plus, you can delete multiple albums at the same time from the album editing screen.
When you delete a photo album, it does not delete photos that are in the album. The photos will continue to be available in the Latest album and in other albums.
To start the process, open the “Photos” application on your iPhone or iPad and then navigate to the “Album” tab.
You will find all of your albums in the “My Album” section at the top of the page. Here, tap the “See All” button found in the upper right corner.
Now you will see a grid of all your albums. Just tap the “Edit” button from the top right corner.
You will now be in album editing mode, similar to Home screen editing mode. Here, you can drag and drop albums to rearrange them.
To delete an album, just tap the red “-” button found in the upper left corner of the album image.
Then, from the pop-up message, confirm the action by selecting the “Delete Album” button. You can delete any album other than the “Most Recent” and “Favorite” albums.
After you confirm, you will see that the album will be deleted from the My Album list. You can continue to delete albums by following the same process. When finished, tap the “Finish” button to explore your album again.
Delete Photo Album on Mac
The process of deleting a photo album from the Photos application on Mac is even simpler than on an iPhone and iPad.
Open the “Photos” application on your Mac. Now, open the sidebar, and expand the “My Album” folder. Here, find the folder that you want to delete and then right-click.
From the context menu, select the “Delete Album” option.
Now you will see a pop-up asking for confirmation. Here, click the “Delete” button.
Albums will now be deleted from your iCloud Photo Library, and changes will be synchronized on all your devices. Again, this will not affect your photos.