Apple

How to Disable Location Access to All Your iPhone Apps

How to Disable Location Access to All Your iPhone Apps

Many Appson your iPhone want to use your location, mostly for legitimate reasons. But some Apps can function properly without location permission, while others don’t have a business even asking for it. If you want to be more selective about the Apps and services that you provide your coordinates, the best thing you can do is start from the beginning.

Most navigation and weather Apps require location permissions to function correctly, while social media Apps may want it to help you find things around you or to help geotag photos and videos that you post. For others, it is best to be suspicious of their intentions. Even for Apps that need them to function as intended, you might want to find out why they need your geocoordinate.

To return manually and check each Apps that has your permission to use location data, you must go to Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services, then open each Apps in the list and read the “Apps description” provided by each Apps. If you have hundreds of Apps, it will take a few moments to verify which Apps you want and do not want to know your position in the real world. Plus, the reasons given cannot always be trusted. The Apps can still use, store and sell your personal location information to advertisers, investment companies and others.

If you have a better feeling about how you want to share your location with apps and services, it’s easier to just reset all of your location settings. That way, each Apps will request another location permission, so you can grant or reject it on a case-by-case basis – whenever you need to use the next Apps.

Step 1: View Location Permissions for Each Apps(Optional)

You can skip this step, but if you are interested in knowing each Apps that uses the location of your iPhone, at least you can browse the Location Services settings through Settings -> Privacy.

1

Here, you will see every original and third-party Apps using your location. You can even disable location services altogether, but we don’t recommend because a ton of your apps will stop functioning properly.

As mentioned earlier, there are also options for managing location services on a per-Apps basis, and must provide the reasons behind each request. But if you have hundreds of Apps, doing so can take a while. That’s why you might want to reset everything at once so each Apps must ask permission to track your location again.

If you are running iOS 14, there is a new setting for the Apps called “Precise Location,” which gives you better control of how Apps can access your location. Without being activated, the Apps can only get an overview of where you are, not the right ping.

2

Step 2 : Reset Your Location & Privacy Settings

To stop each Apps on your device from using your location, you must reset your location and privacy settings. First, open Settings -> General -> Reset.

3

Then, you will see several options for resetting your device and its settings. What we are interested in is “Resetting Location & Privacy.”

Before you reset your location and privacy settings, it’s important to note that this setting will not only reset your app’s location access to default. It also rearranges their access to other privacy settings such as Contacts, Calendar, Reminders, Photos, Bluetooth, Local Network, Microphone, Voice Recognition, Camera, Apple Media & Music, and Files & Folders.

If you agree with that, tap “Reset Location & Privacy,” enter your passcode (if requested), and tap on “Reset Settings.” Your iPhone will not restart after doing so; instead, it will reset everything in the background instantly.

4

Step 3 : Location Permit Verification Revoked

While it’s guaranteed that your Apps no longer has access to your location, it doesn’t hurt to check. Go back to Settings -> Privacy -> Location Services. Now, almost zero Appswill appear in a list other than Siri & Dictation and System Services.

If you are running iOS 14, “Apps Clips” may still appear because this is the default setting, but you can even go in there and turn off “Confirm Location” for mini Apps that need to confirm your exact coordinates.

Additionally, you can enter other settings in the “Privacy” menu, such as Contacts, Calendar, Reminders, Photos, Bluetooth, Local Network, Microphone, Voice Recognition, Camera, Apple Media & Music, and Files & Folders, to see that the Apps no longer have access to these features too.

5

Step 4 : Give Steps Location Access Back to Apps When Needed

Now because there is no application that accesses your location, every time you use an application that wants to use your location, it will ask you for permission. You don’t have to hunt every application – just open the application naturally when you need it, then decide.

For any application, you can choose to access “Don’t Allow” if you are comfortable with it, and they will never have permission. If you know that you will need an application to use your location, even in the background, select “Always.” For applications where you want to be able to use the location without giving permission, select “When Using the Application.” And if there is only one time when you want the application to use your location, select “Allow Once,” and you will be asked every time the application needs it.

And if you are running iOS 14, before giving location access to any application through the dialog box, you can also turn off “Accurate Location” in the Maps representation to only provide the approximate location application.

In addition, you must give permission again to applications that need access to Contacts, Calendar, Reminders, Photos, Bluetooth, Local Network, Microphone, Voice Recognition, Camera, Apple Media & Music, and Files & Folders. For example, for applications such as Instagram, you must give permission to the Camera (to take pictures and videos), Microphone (to record sound during video), and Photos (to save files or find files).

6

Related posts

How to Quickly Enable or Disable Aids Touch on iPhone and iPad

Apple

How to use your Mac to get more info about your iCloud Drive storage

Apple

How to Send New Apps Directly to the App Library on iPhone

Apple

How To Turn Off Cellular Data On An iPhone Or iPad

Apple

How to Check iPhone Operator & Country Compatibility

Apple

How to recover deleted photos on Windows, iOS & Android

Howto

How to Sync iPhone to Computer

Apple

How to Edit Recordings in Voice Memos on iPhone

Apple

How to download tvOS 14 public beta 1 to your Apple TV

Apple