Apple

How to share iCloud folders on iPhone, iPad and Mac

How to share iCloud folders on iPhone, iPad and Mac

With iOS 13.4 and macOS Catalina 10.15.4, you can finally share your iCloud folder. This is how you do it.

We have been waiting to share the iCloud folder since Apple announced it back in June 2019. With iOS 13.4 and macOS Catalina 10.15.4, the feature has finally arrived. Now you can invite several other people to a single iCloud folder, where they can access or add files. You can give people permission to make changes to folders (add, change, or delete files) or give them just view permission.

Here’s how to get started with the shared iCloud folder.

4

On an iPhone or iPad

Open the Files application, and navigate to iCloud Drive.
[Further reading: Everything you need to know about iOS 13]

Don’t tap the folder you want to share – it will open the folder. Instead, tap Select at the top right, then select the folder you want to share.

With the folder selected, tap the share button (box with an arrow coming out of it) in the lower left.

Select Add Person (you might need to swipe to see it).

1

You will be given several options for how you want to send invitations: Message, Mail, Twitter or Facebook DM, and so on. You will also have the opportunity to set Sharing Options.

This option changes who has access to the folder (only people you invite, or who has a sharing link) and what they can do with the folder (make changes to files and subfolders inside, or only see files).

If you want to add the user later, select the folder you are sharing and tap the Share button again. You will see Add People has changed to Show People. Tap it, and you will see who has been invited and you can choose Add People to add more.

You can also choose someone to remove their access or change their permissions.

On a Mac

In Finder, select your iCloud Drive in the left sidebar. Then, select the folder that you want to share. Choose it, don’t open it!

With the folder selected, click the Share button at the top of the Finder window (box with an arrow coming out of it). Then choose Add Person.

You will be given several options for how you want to send invitations: Message, Mail, AirDrop, and so on. You will also have the opportunity to set Sharing Options.

2

This option changes who has access to the folder (only people you invite, or who has a sharing link) and what they can do with the folder (make changes to files and subfolders inside, or only see files).

If you want to add users later, select the folder you are sharing and click the Share button again. You will see Add People has changed to Show People. Click it, and you will see who has been invited and can choose Add People to add more.

You can also choose one individual and then click the button (…) to remove their access or change their permission.

At iCloud.com

You can also share the iCloud Drive folder from the web. This might not work in every browser, but it should work well in Safari.

Open iCloud.com and enter, then open iCloud Drive. Select the folder you want to share, but don’t open it!

Then select the Add People button at the top of the window. Just like on iOS or MacOS, all will be given options for how to like to share invitations (via link or email) and options for changing permissions.

3

Also like iOS or macOS, the Add People button will change to the Show People button after the folder is shared. You can change individual permissions and add or delete users there.

Delete files and folders

Deleting files and folders works as usual, with a few unique warnings.

If users have permission to make changes, they can delete files or subfolders inside the main shared folder. It will be deleted from all joint participants. If you change your mind to delete it, you can find it in Trash on Mac or the New Deleted folder in the Files application on your iPhone or iPad.

But only the original owner of the main shared folder can delete it. If they do, it will be deleted from all shared user devices. If one of the invited users tries to delete the main shared folder, they will only delete their access to that folder. It will not be deleted from other users’ devices.

Related posts

How To Password Protect Your Photos on iPhone

Apple

How to use Apple Watch to listen to music

Apple

How to Manage and Use Google Drive on Your Mac

Howto

How to use parental controls on Apple TV Plus

Apple

How to Use Face ID on Your iPhone When Wearing a Mask

Apple

How to Fix Facetime Direct Photos with No Function or Saving

Apple

How to Sync Music and Podcasts to Apple Watch from an iPhone

Apple

How to Check Free Disk Space on a Mac

Apple

How to Fix iPhone Stuck on Charging Screen

Apple